Our 50th Aniversary Celebration

Our 50th Anniversary Celebration

Dave Gynn

Dave Gynn

Dave Gynn, Chairman


The PCRTA 50th Anniversary Celebration was a wonderful event!  Jack Hurd entertained us with delightful piano music during the gathering of guests and through-out the luncheon. One hundred and five people attended with smiling faces enjoyed the events of the day.

Folks, too, enjoyed the many and varied door prizes given by  members and/or local businesses. The speaker, Jim Schilling, a retired school teacher and principal, took us back in time when people had to wear the dunce hat for wrongdoing or received various forms of physical interruptions in their lessons.

The food catered by Sam Guido was very good. Thanks to Ria Mastromatio for making the programs; Connie Evans for the power point presentations; Len Zuzelis for leading the songs; Dave Gynn and his committee for planning all the details;  Kay Wise for arranging for all of the proclamations.

Also, thanks to Phyllis Spangler and her calling committee for calling all of our members inviting them to attend; Judy Hendershot, Marge Conroy and Helena Parry for the table centerpieces;  Ron Snowberger and his committee for processing and organizing the door prizes; and Georgia Darrah, for getting the speaker.

Dan McCombs took care of  the 50/50, which brought in $240.00 since Georgia donated back her half that she won. Karen Balog took care of reservations and name tags. We thank the Elks for the use of their building;Dave Gynn for getting advertising sponsors for our 12 page print-out for PCRTA by the Record Courier; Pat Gynn for her display of our archival items Judy Morgan for Community Service; and to any and all who helped to make this event so special.

Thanks to our special guests, John Cavanagh, ORTA Director; Carol Kinsey, District X1 Director; Matt Leedom, printer broker and distribution manager of our postal mail newsletter; our Lake County RTA members who attended; our 102 year old most senior member, Virginia Mills.

There are several very nice door prizes left, and they will be used at the Nov. 50/50.

Kenneth and Nancy Bliss provide a scholarship each year for a selected student who is interested in the field of education.

Earlier in the year Art Fesymer received a Life Time Achievement Award in Education from the Kiwanis Club of Ravenna for all of his years of service as a teacher and administrator  in education.




Portage County Retired Teachers would like to recognize the donors who contributed door prizes for our 50th anniversary celebration.  Heartfelt thanks to:

Acme Stores; Barrel Run Crossing Winery; Beauty Lounge East; Bellacino’s Pizza & Grinders; Diamonds From The Attic; Discount Drug Mart; Jill Fankhauser, Clerk of Courts Candidate; Field Restaurant; Garden Club of Kent; Giant Eagle Streetsboro; Guido’s Ravenna;  Home Town Bank; Jason’s Barber Shop; Karen’s Hair Design; Mike Kerrigan, County Commissioner Candidate; NEOMED Wellness Center; Outback Steak House; Popped!!; Portage County Clothing Center; Pufferbelly Restaurant Ltd.; Ravenna Auto Body; Ravenna City Gardener and Florist; Record Courier; Staple’s Streetsboro; John Stephens D.C. Pain Recovery and Window Box Florist.

We would also like to acknowledge the advertisers in the special edition insert, without whom the publication would not have been possible, and recognize Kelly Contini, Record Courier advertising department.  Thanks to: PARTA, Signature Smiles, Mike McClure and HW Chervenic Realtors, Guido’s of Ravenna, Bennett Land Title Agency and American Monument and Granite Co.  We appreciate the efforts of Chad Murphy, the extremely talented editor who created the special edition.

Please take the opportunity to patronize these donors and thank them for their contributions.

Many of the door prizes were contributed by board members and friends, who also deserve a round of thanks:  Karen Balog, Wendy Cooley, Marge Conroy, Denise Craig, Georgia Darrah, Pat Eichler, Connie Evans, Pat Farley, Jan Fencl, Dave Gynn, Pat Gynn, Judy Hendershot, Sheri Humm, Elaine Lumley, Dan McCombs, Judy Morgan, Helena Parry, Edith Scott, Teresa Schoettler, Jan Snowberger, Ron Snowberger, Carole Stokes and Kay Wise.